Mishael Hernandez, NBHS Salutatorian, receives the 1870 Scholarship

The 1870 Scholarship is the highest recognition offered by the Office of Admissions. Named for the year in which the university was founded, prospective recipients are evaluated for academic and creative accomplishments, as well as personal achievement and commitment in community service and demonstrated caring for others.  The award is offered to students in all colleges.

The scholarship recognizes students of talent and promise of all identities and backgrounds who have further exemplified value like innovation, discovery and courage – the same value also demonstrated by the University’s pioneering alumni including Eileen Collins, the first female space shuttle commander and John Tsebe, the first black national librarian in South Africa.

The 1870 Scholarship covers full tuition for the length of your program (4 or 5 years). The amount will adjust annually based on cost of tuition. 1870 scholarship recipients are granted automatic admission into the Renée Crown University Honors Program.